Confessions of a Runner in Training

Screenshot_2015-05-23-16-01-09I started running 8 weeks ago, but the decision to run came much earlier than that. I can’t really remember when I got the running bug, but it really started to manifest last year when I decided to sign up for the Color Run.  That took place in July, and it was a great first-time experience for me. The running bug crept up again last year, around September, when I found out PEI held an annual marathon. I had also seen lots of posts from friends on Facebook who were running marathons, whether they were full, half, 10K or 5K.

U.S. sprinter Florence Griffith Joyner of Los Angeles strides to a world record in a semifinal heat of the Olympic women's 200-meter dash in Seoul Thursday, Sept. 29, 1988.  Joyner's time of 21.56 seconds claimed the record and moved her into the finals in the event.(AP Photo/Lennox McLendon)
Flo-Jo was one of my idols growing up.

Thinking back, I’ve always been interested in running.  Back in high school, one of my nicknames was Flo-Jo. During one of our gym classes, we had a 100m dash. I can’t remember my exact running time, it was probably 4 seconds, but it was pretty darn quick, hence the nickname. But, I never really pursued running for whatever reasons I cast in my head.

Fast forward to earlier this year, and it was about 10 weeks ago, I decided I was going to run my first marathon. I started asking questions, doing my research, and almost everyone I spoke to said training usually lasts about 3 months. One friend cautioned me that since this would be my first marathon, I should start earlier. Hubby got me a treadmill and I started walking during the winter. Once the weather got warmer, I knew I had to make the transition from the treadmill to the pavement.

But I was going to need help.

Screenshot_2015-06-06-07-11-36
This is what I share on my Social Media platforms each time I finish a training.

Not really ready for a trainer, (and maybe a little of my ego had something to do with it) I needed to find something that was easy to do, started off slow and would help me gradually increase my running skills. Enter 10K Trainer from ZenLabs. I saw a few friends using this app and did some research. There are lots of free and paid apps, so of course I know I’m going for the free app. I downloaded the app…and then did nothing for 2 weeks.

Fear and doubt set in.

What if this doesn’t work?

What am I trying to prove?

What will people think?

Why put yourself through the torture?

Is this really worth it?

I then decided that YES, it is worth it!!!

So, on Sunday, April 12, 2015, I started my 10K Trainer journey.

At this point, I was still indoors using the treadmill, but thank goodness it started off real easy – 8 rounds (60 seconds jogging and 90 seconds walking) along with a 5-minute warm-up and cool-down, which lasted for 30 minutes. Each week lasts 3 days, so I would alternate days, and the intervals would increase with each week.

It was around Week 2 or 3 that I started to take my running venture outdoors because the weather was finally getting nicer and I knew at some point, I would have to start running outdoors.

Screenshot_2015-06-06-07-11-57
This is my trainer for each run. Was pretty excited to see the “You can now run the 5K” message.

So, here we are, 8 weeks under my belt. When I saw that this was Week 8, I got real excited. I was even more excited because this week is a major milestone, according to my training app. Today’s completed run means I can run a 5K!!!  I’m pretty excited about that.  I mean, I’ve been running steadily for 8 solid weeks. This morning was even more challenging because it was RAINING. I almost chickened out, but before my brain could realize what I was doing, I got dressed and headed out the door.

I’m so glad I did.

I look forward to running. It’s a part of me. I love to run.

Recently, several people have asked me what am I running for; if I have any particuI just felt like runninglar reason. I couldn’t help but think of Forrest Gump when the reporters asked him similar questions and “I just felt like running” kept replaying in my head. Aside from the marathon, I’m doing this for me. I have to prove to myself that I can do this. Winning the marathon is not the ultimate goal – COMPLETING the marathon is. I’m not sure what will come of it once it gets here, but I do know that regardless of what happens, I WILL finish the race.

Screenshot_2015-06-06-06-23-28
When you first open the 10K Trainer App, a daily motivational quote pops up to help you start your run.

I am by no means done with my training. I still have another 6 weeks left of my 10K training. What will I do next? I’m not sure. On the app, the next step is to move to the 1/2 marathon training, so I may do just that. Whatever I decide, I know that I have incorporated running as a part of my life because it’s a lot of fun.

The journey continues…

Leave a comment