Diary of a Busy Mom

I am a Mom.  I am a Mom of 3 boys.  I am a Mom of 3 very active boys.  They are great kids, and I am proud to be their Mom.  I face many challenges every day to ensure I am doing the best to raise them to be amazing gentlemen.  Some days are better than others, and there are days when I am ready to pull my hair out.

Being a Mom is a thankless job; the most under appreciated job known to man.  We wear many hats as Moms – chauffeur, cook, doctor, nurse, lawyer, judge, jury, executioner, referee, psychiatrist, psychologist, cheerleader…the list is endless, and we’re almost EXPECTED to perform these tasks perfectly every time.  Fellow Moms, do you feel that way?  But, on those days when you are doing so much and no one seems to appreciate what you do, that’s when you feel like saying, “What’s the point?”  “Why the heck am I doing this?”  “Is this REALLY what I signed up for?”  “It’s GOT to get BETTER!!!”

Let’s just say, this weekend was the weekend where no one really appreciated Mom (at least that’s how it felt.)  It’s not a great feeling, because as a Mom, you put your heart and soul into EVERYTHING.  Many times, you don’t get the thank-you’s but, it’s nice when you are noticed for the things you do.

As a Mom, as a parent, as a person, you hope that you are making an impact on someone’s life; that you are making a difference; that you MATTER.  The rewards don’t come in bushel baskets, heck, there are times when it doesn’t show up right away.  I know in the back of my mind that my kids get it and when they get older, they will appreciate all I’ve done for them.  The thank-you’s will come then, I’m sure of it…but it would be nice to get them now, every once in a while.

So, that’s my rant for the day.  Take care, and be well.

Leave a comment