Confessions of a FitBit Junkie – 100 Day Blog Challenge Day 5

Confessions of a FitBit Junkie

My FitBit journey started on November 23, 2012.  I’d been sitting on the fence about purchasing a FitBit, but just wouldn’t make the leap.  Then, I decided to treat myself.  Oh, I remember that day like it was yesterday.  I was so excited when the delivery truck showed up.  Oh heck, anytime the UPS or any delivery truck shows up with a package is like Christmas.

But, I digress.

Clip for the FitBit One.
They are so small!!!


I ordered the FitBit One, and I was so surprised how SMALL it is, but don’t let the size fool you.  These little devices pack quite the punch.  What I really love about the FitBit is that it tracks your activity from Day One.  As of the time of this blog post, I have walked 6,739,178 steps; climbed 10,645 floors; and traveled 2,636.13 miles.  The other great thing about the FitBit are the badges you acquire for important milestones.  Badges include daily step, lifetime distance, daily climb and lifetime climb badges.  I love all the accomplishments and setting daily goals.  It’s a great way to keep me on track and push me to go further.

So, what makes me a junkie, you ask.

Well, there are so many different things from which to choose, but I will touch on a couple for this blog.

Confession #1 – Not Moving When Your FitBit is Charging

OK, the FitBit doesn’t keep going like the Energizer Bunny, so when the battery runs low, it needs to be charged.  Simply plug the USB port into your computer and within an hour, your FitBit is fully charged. 

My Achievements


Well, for me (and some of my fellow “junkies”) this is when we go in idle mode.  For me, at least, I do my BEST to keep still.  Case in point, today. Here’s how the scenario played out – I needed to make dinner, the boys were getting restless.  I couldn’t find my charger all day and the darn battery went BLANK!!  Never saw that before.  FINALLY found the darn charger on my dresser, started the charging process and sat at my desk for 45 minutes.  I didn’t even let it fully charge.  It had about an inch left to charge, but I couldn’t wait any longer.

Do you think I need an intervention?

Let me put it to you this way, when you get the FitBit bug, you want to make sure you get the most out of your day’s activities, so if that means sitting idle for an hour while your FitBit recharges to ensure those steps get logged, I’m immobile until my device is ready to go.

Confession #2 – Doing Everything it Takes to Ensure You Reach Your Required Steps Goal

I’m not gonna lie, this one is my comic relief.  I have a 10,000 daily step goal and when I don’t reach it, I am NOT happy.  I want all those stats to be green no matter what.  For the most part, I reach my daily step goal, and I push for more.  On average, I try to reach 15,000 steps or more.  It’s now 11:40  and I’m at 14,777 steps.  I’m just 223 steps away from the 15,000 mark and earning this badge again. 

My activity for April 3rd.
WTH, only 9 active minutes?!?!?!?


So, what do I do on those days when it’s almost midnight and I’m so close to achieving another badge?  I run around the house like a mad woman.  I will walk up and down the stairs, walk around my coffee table, pace the halls, do WHATEVER I need to do to make sure I get those steps in.  

Hold on a sec while I get this done…

Ahh, much better.

Confession #3 – Checking, Updating and Syncing 

I wear my FitBit One on my hip and I check this thing every 20 seconds.  I’m constantly syncing via my laptop or my Android.  I’m checking the Leaderboard to make sure I’m in the top 10 (and very much in the top 5.)  It’s my own healthy competition that keeps me on my toes.

Top Badges Earned To Date


Only fellow FitBit junkies will understand these little quirks and there are so many more.  I could start listing all the confessions and more will pop up, so this will be an ongoing confession.  Heck, this may take up the rest of the blog challenge.  Just kidding.

It’s 5 minutes to midnight, and by the time I put this blog to post, I have checked my FitBit 20 times.  I’ll be heading to bed soon and trust me, I will check my FitBit just to see my stats.


So, do you think I need an intervention?…


Leave a comment